Faculty Footnotes Fred Parker has been named director of Walters State’s Claiborne County Center for Higher Education. The Claiborne County native began working at the college in 1998 as an assistant professor of math- ematics. Dr. Orville Bach, professor of business, has been inducted into the Students in Free Enterprise Hall of Fame for his work as a SIFE faculty advisor.  Bach is the nation’s twelfth inductee and only the second from a two-year-college. His teams have been to the international SIFE competition in Kansas City,  Mo. ten times in the last 13 years, including this year. Dr. Dennis Elkins, dean of humanities, professor of speech and theatre and head of the department of music and theatre recently received the Tennessee Board of Regents Distance Education Committee Award for his efforts in developing on-line classes. Several long-time employees of the college have retired. Dr. Anne Armstrong, professor of English, has left after 30 years. Another of the college’s original employees, Glenora Hall, associate professor of mathematics, has also stepped down. And after three full decades, Brian Walter has retired from his job as associate professor of history John Evans, associate professor of criminal justice technology, dean of Public Safety and director of the Regional Law Enforcement Academy, has been inducted into Walters State’s Public Safety Hall of Fame. Evans, who came to WSCC in 1993, spent several years working with the FBI and other law enforcement agencies. He has also written three books. Back to Hub main page