The Daily Bulletin



Monday April 23, 2018

current weather

Walters State Celebrates Student Success
April 24, 2013

Walters State Community College honored outstanding students during Tuesday night’s Honors Banquet.
Four students received the President’s Outstanding Student Award, the college’s highest honor:  Evan C. Corlew, Hannah M.Corlew, both of Morristown, Katelyn Hammer of Jefferson City, and Jacob O. Seal of Sneedville.
Sarah Stone of Greeneville was honored of the Outstanding Greeneville/Greene County Campus student. Cory A. Gilmore was honored as the Outstanding Sevier County Campus student. Taylor Lewis of New Tazewell and Jessie Seal of Sneedville were named Outstanding Claiborne County Students. 
Andrew T. Ricker of Morristown and Sara Stevers of Talbott received the Faculty Council Scholarship. 
Brandon Christian Lee Chapman of Greeneville was recognized as a dual enrollment college graduate. Lisa A. Bloom of  Newport and Stephanie L. Cox of Morristown were recognized as top dual enrollment students. 
Celeste Rudd was honored as the top staff member of  “Gallery,” the college’s literary and arts magazine. Matthew S. Knight of Russellville was honored as Student Government Association president and Robert A. Palmer of Rogersville was honored as president of the Senators Pages. 

To see all the awards from Honors Night, visit the college's flicker page:

Education – Katelyn Hammer, Jefferson City
Early Childhood Education –  Carrie Bradley, Bulls Gap
Mathematics – Taylor Brooks, Morristown
Biology – Jacob O. Seal, Sneedville
Chemistry – Hayden B. Short, Sneedville
Physics – Peter D. Suich, Morristown
Excellence in Developmental  Writing – Miriam Alvarez, Sevierville
Creative Writing – Kelly B. Meadows, Johnson City
Essays of Excellence – Whitney Cantwell, Sneedville
English – Kalin Foster, Sevierville
Spanish – David Logan Noland, Sevierville
Music – Hannah M. Corlew and Evan C. Corlew, Morristown
Visual Arts – Mirandia Harville, Morristown, and Courtney M. Howard, Newport
Debate – Serria K. Noe, Talbott, and Aaron Moore, Debate
Philosophy – Conner E. Bush, Harrogate
Administrative Office Assistant – Crystal A. Phillips, Cosby
Business Administration Careers – Jurgita P. Waroway , Morristown, and Evan C. Corlew, Morristown
Culinary Arts – Cory A. Gilmore, Sevierville
Paralegal Studies – Karen F. Marcum, Dandridge
Agriculture – Johnna L. Davis, Walland
Production Horticulture – Chihming Sun, Bluff City
Computer and Information Science – Conner E. Bush, Harrogate
Engineering Technology – Nathan D. Eggers, Morristown
Criminal Justice – Brett A. Hickey, Morristown
Paramedic – Tom E. Barry, Sevierville
Fire Science – Charlie E. Elliot, Knoxville
Nursing (Morristown campus ) – Carissa E. Teal, Newport, and Corinne Brown, Sevierville
Nursing (Greeneville/Greene County Campus) – Tiffany Grey, Mosheim
Nursing (Sevierville Campus) – Telena Smith, Sevierville
Nursing (Career Mobility) – Tracey N. Talley, White Pine
Physical Therapist Assistant – Mark A. Williams, Talbott
Respiratory Care – Stacey L. Gumm, Greeneville
Health Information Technology – Sharon A. Martinson, Thorn Hill
Pharmacy Technician – Michael J. Gwynn, Morristown
Medical Coding – Jennifer E. Riggs, Bulls Gap
Medical Insurance Specialist – Zera D. Sobol, Sevierville
Academic awards were also given to the top student athletes:
Men’s Basketball – Gerrod Moore of Knoxville
Women’s Basketball – Karly B. Frye, Afton 
Baseball – Jake Corum , Blaine 
Softball – Kelsey Weddle, Meadowview, Va.
Golf – Bradley D. Hawkins, Knoxville
Volleyball – Moriah P. McKinney, Morristown
Cheerleading – Sarah Wilder, Morristown