The Daily Bulletin



Saturday December 03, 2022

current weather

College Celebrates Academic Success
May 1, 2022

Walters State Community College celebrated academic achievement with a return of its annual, in-person honors banquet.
Tanner Keck, a civil engineering major from Bean Station, received the President’s Outstanding Student Award, the high award given to a student. Tanner is active both on campus and in his community. His honors include Phi Theta Kappa All-American Team and the Phi Theta Kapp All-USA Academic Team. He also been named a Phi Theta Kappa Cengage Century National Scholar. 
Outstanding students were recognized for each campus. Emma C. Gerding of Tazewell was named the outstanding student on the Claiborne County Campus. Maria D. Proffitt of Morristown was named the outstanding student on the Niswonger Campus and Ty G. Robbins of Sevierville was named the outstanding student on the Sevier County Campus. 
Maria G. Dalton of Morristown, president of the Senators Pages, and Sarah Holt of Bean Station, vice president of the Student Government Association, were honored for their contributions to the college. The Faculty Senate Scholarship was awarded to Aspen R. Osborne of Jacksboro and Shianne S. Reagan of Greeneville.
Six  were recognized as Dual Enrollment College graduates: Kathryn G. Hall of Morristown; Emma C. Gerding and Kinley S. Cox of Tazewell, Isabella G. Kelly of Sevierville; Madison A. Mullins of Speedwell; and Sophie M. Swann of Dandridge. 

Academic awards were presented to outstanding students as follows. 
General Studies Award: Declan E. Wiesner, Castle Rock, Colorado.
Early Childhood Education: Paula R. Atkins, Bean Station, and Carrie A. Williamson, Newport.
Education: Danyale C. Grahl, Newport
History: Ashton B. Veals, Knoxville
Behavioral and Social Sciences: Nikolas M. Waddell, Greeneville
Business Management: Emily Duck, Dandridge
Accounting: Zaeyn R. Gerard, Thorn Hill
Culinary Arts: Cynthia E. Turner, Dandridge
Paralegal Studies: Nicole M. Veta, Johnson City
Hospitality Management: Tetyana Yakovetts, Mooresburg
Business: Christopher Yarberry, Sevierville
Occupational Therapy Assistant: Carmen C. Arendt, Jonesborough
Nursing, Fall 21: Sabrina Bowens of Morristown
Nursing, Spring 22: Hillary N. Calfee, Tazewell
Nursing, Niswonger Campus: Emma M. Hickman, Greeneville
Nursing, Sevier County Campus: Anastasia A. O’Connor, Sevierville
Nursing, Career Mobility: Morgan E. Johnson, Greeneville
Physical Therapist Assistant: Aaron T. Charles, Kingsport, and Blaise G. Perkins, Thorn Hill
Advanced Pharmacy Technician, Fall 2022: Haley G. Evans, New Tazewell
Entry-Level Pharmacy Technician, Spring 2022 John O. Provens, III, Newport
Entry-Level Pharmacy Technician, Fall 2021: Kylie M. Thomas, Maryville
Advanced Pharmacy Technician, Spring 2022: Kylie M. Thomas, Maryville
Respiratory Care: Amber L. Gilmore, Morristown
Health Information Management: Bobbie Smith Lipe, Hixson
Medical Coding: Bobbie Smith Lipe, Hixon
Medical Insurance Specialist: Deborah S. Scheu, Greeneville
Surgical Technician: Olivia Weaver, Morristown
Studio Arts: Brice M. Anderson, Sevierville
Spanish: Dustin L. Bales, Morristown
English: Kathy M. Brickle, Sevierville
Theatre: Reagan M. Davis, Mosheim
Philosophy: Karson R. Holliday, Seymour
Creative Writing: Sarah A. Nunn, Tazewell
Mass Communications: Joshua C. Ogle, Sevierville
Gallery: Chloe M. Robison, Whitesburg
Music: Melody B. Shults, Bybee
Debate: Tanner L. Keck, Bean Station
Essays of Excellence, Alex I. Beltran, Greeneville
Pre-Engineering: Seth D. Johnson, Maynardville, and Marcus B. Joyner, Seymour
Mathematics: Daniel F. Tibbs, Morristown, and Hannah D. Watson, Morristown
Physics: Ethan C. Griffith, New Market
Biology: Laura E. Whaley, Knoxville
Chemistry: Kathryn G. Hall, Morristown
Paramedic: Caleb A. Marshall, Telford
Criminal Justice: Cole D. Slavens, Dandridge
Agriculture: Laura E. Whaley, Knoxville
Computer Information Technology: John A. Breeden, Morristown, and Britny M. Watson, White Pine.
Engineering Technology: Seth W. Parrott, Jefferson City

Top Student Athlete Awards: 
Jared Carter of Sparta, men’s basketball
Parker J. Hurd of Kingsport, volleyball
John T. McKenzie of Cleveland, golf
Jessica M. Odom of Jefferson City, softball
Ryan E. Sadlon of Morristown, men’s cross country
Ashley Soto Perez of Morristown, women’s cross country
Matty L. Tanner of Rutledge, women’s basketball
Declan E. Wiesner of Castle Rock, Colorado, baseball