The Daily Bulletin



Saturday February 04, 2023

current weather

Class 126 Completes Academy
December 3, 2022

Forty-nine cadets graduated from the Walters State Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy on Dec. 1 These cadets mark the 126th class to graduate from the Academy.

Based at the college’s Niswonger Campus in Greeneville, the academy is an intensive nine-week program providing over 500 hours of training. Upon completion, students are awarded the technical certificate in Basic Law Enforcement Officer Education and are eligible to apply for certification by the Police Officers Standards and Training Commission as a certified peace officer in the state of Tennessee after being employed by a law enforcement agency.
The program is part of the Regional Law Enforcement Training Center, established at Walters State by the POST Commission and is part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.
The following awards were presented during the graduation ceremony:
• Academic Award: David Wilson of Bradley County, East Ridge Police Department.
• Defensive Tactics: Jeremiah Barnes of Morristown, Jefferson City Police Department.
• Firearms: Douglas Baldwin of Morristown, Morristown Police Department.
• Charles Edward Baskette Memorial Award for Courage and Determination: Kathleen Stidham of Bean Sttion, Grainger County Sheriff’s Office.
• Best Athlete: Tyler Wicken of Nashville, Vanderbilt Police Department.
• Defensive and Tactical Driving: Hannah Kinkead of Jefferson City, Morristown Police Department. 
• David Purkey Leadership Award: Austin Rossette of Hendersonville, Gallatin Police Department.
• Outstanding Student: Jamison Nash of Primm Springs, Hickman County Sheriff’s Office. 
• Award Given By Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police: Jaylon Strayhorn of Kingsport, Kingsport Police Department. 
• Award Given by the Tennessee Sheriffs’ Association: Christopher Rush of Kingsport, Sevier County Sheriff’s Association. 

ALCOA COUNTY: Shadoe Smith of Maryville, Oak Ridge Police Department.
ANDERSON COUNTY: Joshua Edwards of Clinton, Oak Ridge Police Department. Madalyn Gallegos-Gelein of Oak Ridge, Oak Ridge Police Department.
BRADLEY COUNTY: David Wilson of Cleveland, East Ridge Police Department.
CAMPBELL COUNTY: Nicholas Lowe of Jellico, Jellico Police Department.
CARTER COUNTY: Devin Higgins of Erwin, Unicoi County Sheriff’s Office.
CLAIBORNE COUNTY: Kaleb Wright of Tazewell, Union County Sheriff’s Office.
DAVIDSON COUNTY: Austin Parman of Nashville, Vanderbilt University Police Department; Beverly Wallace of Nashville, Vanderbilt Police Department; Tyler Wicken of Nashville, Vanderbilt Police Department.
GRAINGER COUNTY: Katherine Stidham of Bean Station, Grainger County Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Shofner of Rutledge, Jefferson City Police Department.
HAMBLEN COUNTY: Cody Malone of Morristown, Hamblen County Sheriff’s Office; Douglas Baldwin of Morristown, Morristown Police Department; Jason Cobb of Morristown, Morristown Police Department; Mark McBee of Morristown, Morristown Police Department; Joseph Dinwiddie of Talbott, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office; Jeremiah Barner of Morristown, Jefferson City Police Department.
HAMILTON COUNTY: Alex Ackermannn of Chattanooga, East Ridge Police Department.
HAWKINS COUNTY: Raymond McDonald of Church Hill, Kingsport Police Department.
HICKMAN COUNTY: Jamison Nash of Primm Springs, Hickman County Sheriff’s Office.
JEFFERSON COUNTY: Hannah Kinkead of Jefferson City, Morristown Police Department; 
KNOX COUNTY: Zachary Hughes of Corryton, Union County Sheriff’s Office; Tyler Ketchie of Knoxville, University of Tennessee Medical Center Security.
PICKET COUNTY: Keyton Dowdy and Lance Miller, both of Byrdstown and both employed by the Pickett County Sheriff’s Office. 
SCOTT COUNTY: Michael Hanson of Helenwood, Oak Ridge Police Department.
SEVIER COUNTY: Austin Wagner of Kodak, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office; Garrett Jordan of Sevierville, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Rush of Sevierville, Sevier County Sheriff’s Office; Garet Loveday of Sevierville, Sevierville Police Department;
SMITH COUNTY: Guy Barnby of Carthage, Gallatin Police Department.
SULLIVAN COUNTY: Kaley Rosenbaum of Blountville, Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office; Dan Perry of Bluff City, Northeast State Police Department; John Hansen of Bristol, Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office; Christopher Good of Kingsport, Kingsport Police Department; Jaylon Strayhorn, Kingsport, Kingsport Police Department; Trevor Gilliam, Kingsport, Sullivan County Sheriff’s Office.
SUMNER COUNTY: William Beaman of Gallatin, Gallatin Police Department; Michael Thomas of Gallatin, Vanderbilt University Police Department; Austin Rosette of Hendersonville, Gallatin Police Department; Christopher Wicking of White House, Gallatin Police Department.
UNION COUNTY: Linette Rodriquez of Maynardville, Cocke County Sheriff’s Office; Caleb Rhodes of Sharps Chapel, Union County Sheriff’s Office.

GEORGIA: Alan Resendiz of Dalton, East Ridge Police Department.
KENTUCKY: Joseph McCulley of Williamsburg, Campbell County Sheriff’s Office.
VIRGINIA: Raymond Torres of Bristol, Northeast State Police Department; Eric Dupuie of Castlewood, Kingsport Police Department.